Share the Road’s goal is to promote systematic investment policies for walking and cycling in both government and donor agencies.  In our current stages of work, Share the Road is focusing on national-level projects with interested governments in Africa.  The mid-term goal is to build an Africa regional partnership for financing involving major donors – a public-private partnership that can support countries in responding to the great demand for safe, convenient and enjoyable walking and cycling.

If you are interested in working with Share the Road in your own country or want to join any of our ongoing projects, please contact us.



Kenya became the first pilot country for the Share the Road (StR) initiative in 2009, when UNEP began working with the government’s lead agency on urban roads, the Kenya Urban Road Authority (KURA). UNEP and KURA have worked together to develop the design for the rehabilitation of UN Avenue, a joint showcase road to promote non motorised transport (NMT) facilities. The design of the road features top-quality walking and cycling facilities, the first of its kind in Kenya and most of Africa. The most outstanding impact of the StR initiative has been in the close cooperation with KURA which led to not only the showcase road, but adoption of a policy change in 2011 by the Kenyan Government, to integrate walking and cycling facilities on all new urban road projects.


Uganda is Share the Road’s (StR) second pilot country. UNEP supported the MoWT and the First African Bicycle Information Organisation (FABIO) to develop a Non Motorised Transport (NMT) policy for Uganda. The national policy will address NMT issues in the country by increasing the recognition of walking and cycling in transport planning, design, and infrastructure development; and mainstreaming resources for walking and cycling in the financial planning of agencies among other interventions. UNEP’s support to Uganda on the NMT policy links with a pilot project in Kampala for pedestrianisation and NMT facilities involving KCCA and UN-Habitat (as part of the Sustran project).


Rwanda is Share the Road’s third pilot country. As a first step in launching a national Share the Road (StR) project in Rwanda, a workshop took place on 11 October 2011 in Kigali, hosted by the Rwanda Transport Development Agency (RTDA) in cooperation with UNEP. One of the key outcomes was a multi-sector steering committee to discuss details to a pilot project and manage the implementation, with support from UNEP. A pilot project to showcase walking and cycling infrastructure has been identified by the steering committee. The site has been chosen in Kigali, the capital of Rwanda, on a high-demand street in the central business district. At the same time, a national NMT policy will be drafted to provide the basis for further investments.


Burundi is Share the Road’s fourth pilot country. As a first step in launching a national Share the Road (StR) project in Burundi, a workshop took place on 15 November 2011, in Bujumbura. The key objective of the meeting was to sensitize stakeholders on the issues and to develop an action plan. One of the key outcomes of this workshop was an action plan, with targets and timelines, for developing and adopting NMT policy.